Areas of Charleston

The greater Charleston area, the Lowcountry of South Carolina, consists of three counties: Charleston, Berkeley and Dorchester. The natural beauty of the Greater Charleston area is magnificent with beaches and wonderful county parks to visit and explore. The area’s history, location, and mild climate, make the Charleston region one of the best places to live and visit. Whether you are looking for a lively urban experience, the coziness of a small town, or the relaxing feel of a beach house, there is a place for everyone in the Lowcountry.

Economically, Charleston is also growing. It is a very important port city, boasting the second largest container seaport on the East Coast and the fourth largest container seaport in North America. Charleston is also becoming a prime location for technology jobs and corporations, such as Google, Boeing, Benefitfocus, Blackbaud and Volvo. In the downtown area, the medical district is experiencing rapid growth of biotechnology and medical research coupled with substantial expansions of hospital facilities at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) and Roper Hospital.

We have prepared a handy guide to Charleston and surrounding communities.  Click here or on the guide’s cover to discover the different areas of Charleston.

Have a question about the area?